Clubs & Organizations

Southside Virginia Community College recognizes and encourages excellence through special programs, academic scholarships, and honorary scholastic societies.

[ John H. Daniel Campus | Christanna Campus ]

Clubs & Organizations: John H. Daniel Campus

 

Campus Activities Team

The Campus Activities Team was started in the spring semester of 2008. Formally known as the Student Forum a name change was proposed to express the team-centered purpose of C.A.T. Members of the C.A.T. give suggestions of preference for student events and express their opinion about other campus issues. Membership is open to all SVCC students. This club meets monthly and often provides assistance during student activities.

Advisor: Le’Tina Giles
Letina.giles@southside.edu

Christian Crusade

The Christian Crusade club was recently started as an open forum for Christians. They will participate in bible study and off campus field trips to Christian Leadership Conferences.

Advisor: Melissa Wood
Melissa.wood@southside.edu

Minority Awareness Programming

Minority Awareness Programming (M.A.P.) This club on the Daniel campus focuses on the issues within a minority race/population. Established in 2006, M.A.P. sponsors an annual African-American History month program. In addition, M.A.P. raises fund raises annually for charitable organizations across the globe. M.A.P. membership is open to all students at SVCC. Please visit your Student Activities Coordinator for more information about thisorganization.

Advisor: Sandra Bacon
Sandra.bacon@southside.edu

Student Government Association

To serve as the student voice on campus. Students who are interested in joining should sign up on the attached sheet. Members of this organization will be invited to meetings off campus will play an active role with the SVCC chapter of Virginia 21. Virginia 21 is a non-partisan student organization. Students involved in VA 21 attend monthly leadership meetings, visit the general assembly, are made aware of educational issues. In addition, they are active in presenting solutions, assist during elections, and networking with various members of our legislation. Membership is open to all students on the John H. Daniel or Christanna Campus.

Advisors: Dorothea Sizemore and Rosa Townsend
Dorothea.sizemore@southside.edu
Rosa.townsend@southside.edu

SVCC Automotive Club

The SVCC automotive club was started on the John H. Daniel campus of SVCC. Members of this club share the passion of automotive. Membership is open to all SVCC students. The club holds an annual car show. In addition, they sponsor car care clinics and various activities throughout the year. Interested students should talk to their Student Activities Coordinator.

Advisor: Arnold Gayles
Arnold.gayles@southside.edu

Transfer Club

To provide a means for students to broaden their knowledge of transfer procedures by attending various events, encouraging participation in activities, on-and off-campus, and extending their knowledge of transfer procedures. Open membership.

Advisor: Matt Dunn
Matt.dunn@southside.edu

The Wellness Club 

Our purpose is to promote a healthy lifestyle through workshops and community outreach programs. Examples of these programs include: National Smoke-out Day, Breast Cancer Awareness, Blood Drives and much more.

Brent Crow
Brent.crow@southside.edu

Women of Wisdom

Women of Wisdom is a mentoring program geared toward minority females, but females of all races are encouraged to actively participate.  The program’s vision is to reflect on the changing needs of minority females and nurture their educational, cultural, and social experiences.  The program provides opportunities for personal growth through mentoring, fellowship, and social/educational experiences

Advisors: Stephanie Currin, Sandra Bacon, LaTrisha McCargo, and Dorothea Sizemore
Stephanie.currin@southside.edu
Sandra.bacon@southside.edu
Latrisha.mccargo@southside.edu
Dorothea.sizemore@southside.edu

 


 

Clubs & Organizations: Christanna Campus

 

Campus Activities Team

Goals:  Through a team-centered approach, C.A.T. Members give voice to concerns and suggestions from the student body regarding campus events and the overall campus environment. Members assist in the planning, marketing, and execution of student activities. This club meets monthly and is open to all SVCC students.

Advisor: Vondrenna Smithers, vondrenna.smithers@southside.edu

Criminal Justice Club

Goals:  Provide a means for students to strengthen their knowledge of the mission and mandates of Law Enforcement agencies at the local, state and federal levels; and of the United States Constitution; the Commonwealth of Virginia Constitution and the laws governing both. Open membership. 

Acting President:  Jeff Karrow,  jsk2145@email.vccs.edu
Advisor: Dr. James Taylor, james.taylor@southside.edu

Empowered Women’s Organization

Goal: To increase female retention and completion rates; grow the leadership capacity of female students; increase partnerships with campus community; and connect with the community. Open membership. 

President: Raven Stigall, rss25219@email.vccs.edu
Advisors: Bernadette Battle bernadette.battle@southside.edu & Marika Peterson marika.peterson@southside.edu

Environmental Club

Goal: To encourage activities which lead to a more sustainable campus environment. Special attention is given to Arbor Day in the fall term and Earth Day in the spring term. A major focus of the organization is protecting our natural resources through activities that can make a difference on the campuses and college centers, such as recycling.

Advisor: Kristen Beekwilder, kristen.beekwilder@southside.edu & Gunay Smith, gunay.smith@southside.edu

Human Services Club

The Human Services Club on the Christanna Campus has been established for but not limited to Human Services majors. Annual dues allow students to take field trips, attend professional conventions, and to purchase gifts for the needy. Special concerns of the organization are centered on the elderly, pre-school and school age children, and mentally ill and mentally challenged customers.

Advisor: Teresa George, teresa.george@southside.edu

Phi Beta Lambda

The primary goals of the organization are to develop competent, aggressive business leadership; encourage scholarship and promote school loyalty; assist students in the establishment of occupational goals; facilitate the transition from school to work; and develop character, prepare for useful citizenship, and foster patriotism. Membership is open to all college students. Joining the local chapter will provide membership in the state and national chapters.

Advisor: Crystal Jones, crystal.jones@southside.edu

Phi Theta Kappa

Membership is extended by invitation. To be considered for membership a student must (1) be enrolled in a two-year college, (2) have accumulated 12 semester credit hours, (3) have achieved a cumulative grade-point average of not less than 3.2, (4) have established academic excellence as judged by faculty, and (5) be of good moral character and possess recognized qualities of citizenship.

President: Jeff Karrow,  jsk2145@email.vccs.edu
Advisor: Leslie Cline leslie.cline@southside.edu & Angela McClintock angela.mcclintock@southside.edu

RN Nursing Club

The purpose of the Nursing Club is to assume responsibility for contributing to nursing education in order to provide for the highest quality health care; to provide programs representative of fundamental and current professional interest and concerns, and to aid in the development of the whole person, and his/her professional role, and his/her responsibility for the health care of people in all walks of life. The Nursing Club also sponsors different programs including health fairs that are open to the local communities in a spirit of “giving back” to all who are supportive of the college. Only students already enrolled in the state approved program at SVCC leading to licensure as a registered nurse are eligible to join.

President: Michael Gallagher, mjg2128@email.vccs.edu
Advisor: Felicia Omick, Felicia.omick@southside.edu

Student Veterans of America

Goals: To foster veteran friendly relationships toward a common purpose to do good things for other veterans, spouses of veterans, the college, and the community. To recruit and retain at least 80% of enrolled student veterans, student spouses, and student dependents of veterans at SVCC - Christanna Campus. To encourage success in educational and training programs for all student veterans.

Advisor: Tonia Talbott, tonia.talbott@southside.edu

SVEC Student Ambassadors Organization

The SVEC Student Ambassadors Organization will empower our students to realize the value of giving back to the community through outreach and volunteer projects. The members of the organization will also represent SVCC in a positive light at various community events. Members will also foster positive team building and leadership development experiences.

Advisors: Erica Andrews, erica.andrews@southside.edu; Diane Edmonds, diane.edmonds@southside.edu; Shelia.Harper, shelia.harper@southside.edu; Dawn Roberts, dawn.roberts@southside.edu; and Starla Wellenhoofer, starla.wellenhoffer@southside.edu
Transfer Club

Goal: To provide a means for students to broaden their knowledge of transfer procedures by attending various events, encouraging participation in activities, on- and off-campus, and extending their knowledge of transfer procedures.

Advisors: Bernadette Battle Bernadette.battle@southside.edu & Shanley Dorin shanley.dorin@southside.edu