Academic Advising

A key to your success at SVCC is working closely with an Advisor

 

Academic advisors help students understand the available options and set up an initial class schedule.

New Students

Prior to meeting with an advisor, please:

  1. Complete the application for admissions
  2. Bring a high school transcript to learn if the placement test is necessary.
  3. Make an appointment with an Academic Advisor through Navigate.
  4. Academic advising hours at the Christanna Campus in Alberta or the John H. Daniel Campus in Keysville are Monday through Friday from 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Please arrive for advising at least one hour before closing Check here for other sites.

Current & Returning Students

Current students needing scheduling help for the next term may:

  1. Make an appointment for advising using Navigate.
  2. Arrange a time with a faculty advisor from last semester for help with a plan.
  3. Web registration is open for those who know what classes they need.
  4. Those unable to come to campus during service hours may email student.services@southside.edu.

Transfer & Visiting Students

Transfer students needing scheduling help for the next term may:

NAME

PROGRAMS

PHONE #

EMAIL ADDRESS

Anderson, Becky (SVHEC)

Nursing (ADN)

434-572-5560

becky.anderson@southside.edu

Archer, Patricia (CHR)

Practical Nursing

434-949-1073

patricia.archer@southside.edu

Back, Lisa (DAN)

Practical Nursing, General Studies-Health Sciences

434-736-2010

lisa.back@southside.edu

Bennett, Lisa (SVHEC)

Nursing (ADN)

434-572-5460

lisa.bennett@southside.edu

Braun, David (DAN)

Welding (Cert & CSC)

434-736-2033

david.braun@southside.edu

Brown, Vincent (Collegewide)

Applied Electricity, National Electric Code, HVAC - Level 1 & HVAC - Level 2

434-955-2252

vincent.brown@southside.edu

Downing-Gardner, Mary (CHR)

General Education (Cert), General Studies

434-949-6610

mary.gardner@southside.edu

Edmonds, Scott (Collegewide)

Electronics Technology, Technical Studies-Industrial Technology

434-955-2252

scott.edmonds@southside.edu

Evans, John (CHR)

Welding (Cert & CSC)

434-955-2252

john.evans@southside.edu

Fisher, Karen (SVHEC)

General Studies - Health Sciences, Practical Nursing

434-572-5567

karen.fisher@southside.edu

Freeman, Sharon (CHR)

Education, General Education (Cert), General Studies, Early Childhood Programs (CSC)

434-949-1082

sharon.freeman@southside.edu

George, Teresa (DAN)

General Studies - Human Services (HMS), HMS (Cert & CSC), Substance Abuse Counseling Aide

434-949-6601

teresa.george@southside.edu

Henderson, Diane (DAN)

Business Administration, Business Management, Business Management - Accounting Spec., General Business, Bookkeeping

434-736-2037

diane.henderson@southside.edu

Hicks, Russell* (Collegewide)

Diesel Mechanic/Technician

434-292-3103

russell.hicks@southside.edu

Hines-Bentley, Stacy (SVHEC)

Practical Nursing

434-572-5664

stacy.hines@southside.edu

Hopkins, Karen (DAN)

Nursing (ADN)

434-736-2076

karen.hopkins@southside.edu

Horne, Sarah (DAN)

General Education (Cert), General Studies

434-736-2087

sarah.horne@southside.edu

Jackson, Leslie (DAN)

Nursing (ADN)

434-736-2076

leslie.jackson@southside.edu

Jordan, Lisa (CHR)

General Education (Cert), General Studies

434-949-6604

lisa.jordan@southside.edu

Kendall-Maxey, Shayna (CHR)

General Education (Cert), General Studies

434-949-1062

shayna.kendall@southside.edu

LaPrade, Kelley (CHR)

Information Systems Technology (IST), IST-Networking, IST-Cert, Application Software Spec., Networking & Computer Support, IST-Cybersecurity (AAS, CSC)

434-949-1032

kelley.laprade@southside.edu

Lester, Bobby (CHR)

Emergency Medical Services (EMS), EMT-Basic, Intermediate & Paramedic

434-949-6603

bobby.lester@southside.edu

Lowery-Carter, Christy (DAN)

Education, General Education (Cert), General Studies,  Early Childhood Program (CSC)

434- 736-2110

christy.carter@southside.edu

Lyles, Ricky (DAN)

Emergency Medical Services (EMS), EMT-Basic, Intermediate & Paramedic

434-736-2097

ricky.lyles@southside.edu

McCargo, LaTrisha(Collegewide)

Cosmetology

434-372-0194

latrisha.mccargo@southside.edu

Moore, Leigh (CHR)

Nursing (ADN)

434-949-1037

leigh.moore@southside.edu

Omick, Felicia (CHR)

Nursing (ADN)

434-949-1072

felicia.omick@southside.edu

Patton, Chad (DAN)

Automotive Diagnosis & Tune-Up,
Automotive Tune-Up (CSC)

434-949-1038

chad.patton@southside.edu

Paul, Sanjay (CHR)

General Studies-Human Services Spec.,
Human Services (AAS, Cert, & CSC)

434-949-1030

sanjay.paul@southside.edu

Randolph, Erica

All programs offered at SVEC

434-634-9358

erica.randolph@southside.edu

Reed, Martha (CHR)

Practical Nursing, General Studies - Health Science

434-949-1039

martha.reed@southside.edu

Richey, Brent (CHR)

General Education (Cert), General Studies, Science

434-949-1043

brent.richey@southside.edu

Scales, Tom (CHR)

Business Administration, Business Management, Business Management - Accounting Specialization, General Business, Bookkeeping, General Studies - Agribusiness, Agribusiness (CSC)

434-949-1087

tom.scales@southside.edu

Seward, Alfonzo (Collegewide)

General Studies - Administration of Justice (ADJ), ADJ, Law Enforcement, Tactical Response Management

434-949-1092

alfonzo.seward@southside.edu

Smetana, Kristine (CHR)

Science

434-949-1058

kristine.smetana@southside.edu

Stinson, Mike (DAN)

Science, Religious Organization Leadership (CSC)

434-736-2071

mike.stinson@southside.edu

Talbott, Jonette (SVHEC)

Practical Nursing

434-572-5591

jonette.talbott@southside.edu

Trihey, Bryant (DAN)

General Education (Cert), General Studies

434-736-2031

bryant.trihey@southside.edu

Tuck, Joan (DAN)

Administration Support Technology (AST), AST-Medical Office Spec., AST - Legal Spec., Clerical Studies, Medical Office Assisting, Health Information Technology, Information Systems Technology (IST), IST-Networking, IST-Cert, Application Software Spec., Website Development, Network & Computer Support

434-736-2019

jon.tuck@southside.edu

Walker, Stephen (DAN)

General Education (Cert), General Studies

434-736-2166

stephen.walker@southside.edu

Wells, Katrina (DAN)

Nursing (RN)

434-736-2078

katrina.wells@southside.edu

Wilkerson, James (DAN)

General Education (Cert), General Studies

434-736-2094

james.wilkerson@southside.edu

Wright, Tommy (DAN)

IST-Networking, IST-Cert, Networking and Computer Support

434-736-2040

tommy.wright@southside.edu

In this section